It's my life! / Music

A new interest: The penny-whistle

 

 

While designing a portfolio for my company this afternoon, I watched The Corrs in their Dublin concert through YouTube. I am a fan of Celtic or Celtic-inspired music. Attending the Riverdance performance in Stockholm still ranks as one of the best decisions I have ever made. It’ll be an injustice to merely say this, but it must be said anyway: It was incredibly inspiring.

 

Anyway, back to The Corrs concert. The main lead, Andrea Corrs plays sweet or sometimes, cheeky, tunes with the flute. It peaked my interest.

 

I like flutes. They are convenient. I already have two Chinese flutes, a dizi, which is a bamboo flute, and a hulusi, a gourd-shaped flute. Well, I owned them, I know the basics and some simple tunes like  Doraemon and Dae Jang Geum (Jewel in the Palace) soundtracks,  but that doesn’t mean I’m good at playing them. I have not been too disciplined in practicing them -_-‘

 

But, I still like flutes. Maybe one day soon, I’ll pick up the classical flute (the one that Sir James Galway plays).

 

For now, though,  I want to learn to play the penny whistle.

High D tin whistles, from left to right: Clark...

High D tin whistles, from left to right: Clarke Sweetone; Shaw (customised); O’Brien; Reyburn; Generation (customised); Copeland; Overton (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

From Wikipedia:

 

The tin whistle, also called the penny whistle,[1] English flageolet, Scottish penny whistle, tin flageolet, Irish whistle feadóg stáin (or simply feadóg) and Clarke London Flageolet[2] is a simple six-holed woodwind instrument. It is an end blown fipple flute, putting it in the same category as the recorder, American Indian flute, and other woodwind instruments. A tin whistle player is called a tin whistler or whistler. The tin whistle is closely associated with Celtic music.

 

 

Let’s pray that I can find it in Singapore. It seems it might be difficult to find in Singaporean stores, and purchasing online would not guarantee the quality of the penny whistle. I’ve read that there might be hope in hunting at Bras Basah complex, my favourite place for many reasons (food, books, culture, Cat Socrates).

 

So, let’s go a’hunting. It’s time for a merry tune.

 

4 thoughts on “A new interest: The penny-whistle

  1. Hi there! I’m from Singapore too. May I ask, did you succeed in getting a tin whistle locally? 🙂 Would really appreciate the information, and details if so (price and brand of tinwhistle). Thank you!

    • I didn’t. If you find one, tell me too. It looks like we either have to ask friends in Ireland to buy it for us (because it’s really really cheap there), or buy it online (not so cheap…)

Leave a Reply

